Accessible Buildings

Discover Your Community #4 asks girls to evaluate the accessibility of a public building or your meeting place.  I tried to find a good check list on line but I found the ones available were far too detailed and used a lot of language I’m sure most Guide age girls would struggle with.  So I made my own list.  If you’d like a copy you can get it from my Drop Box.  I created this for girls in my unit to do it on their own but it would also be fun to split up in patrols and have each patrol look at a different building.

One thought on “Accessible Buildings

  1. A few things you might add – are switches within reach from sitting height? Can you see over counters or reception desks from sitting height? Is there enough room in the disabled bathroom to park a wheelchair or walking frame next to the toilet so you can transfer yourself across and back? How would they get someone with mobility needs out from upstairs during a fire evacuation (when you’re not allowed to use the lift)?

Leave a Reply

