Safety Around Firearms Challenge

When I first saw the Safety Around Firearms Challenge from the North West Territories, I was surprised it existed.  But reading though the challenge introduction I realized that my surprise was based more on my southern Canadian Urban bias.  When I take my unit camping, polar bear attack are not part of my Safe Guide planning.   If the presence of Polar Bears (or Grizzles) are part of the risks of camping in your part of Canada and fire arms are required on site to keep your campers safe, this might be a challenge to look at in your unit.  Otherwise, it is thought provoking to think about the size and diversity of the Canadian Outdoors and the different challenges faced by Guiders across the country.

Leave a Reply

